SSLA's Annual Bursary and Awards Ceremony

Saskatchewan School Library Association

THE MEDIUM – SPRING 2009

Charlene Leaderhouse SSLA Vice-President



Template

Saskatchewan School Library Association

This year's SSLA Bursary and Award Ceremony was held on March 23, 2009 at the Radisson Hotel in Saskatoon as part of the SSLA 50th Anniversary Celebration. Each year, the SSLA honours individuals who have demonstrated leadership and distinguished service to school libraries in Saskatchewan. The bursary and awards are named after individuals who were dedicated to school libraries and made significant contributions to the profession of teacher-librarianship. The SSLA offers four possible awards and is pleased to announce all four were awarded this year. For more information on the SSLA awards, please visit http://www.ssla.ca

Dr. Alixe Hambleton Bursary

The Saskatchewan School Library Association offers annually a bursary valued at \$500 to a student registered at a recognized Canadian university in an undergraduate or graduate program in Education with the award to be used for a course in school librarianship. The award is based on academic achievement and financial need.

Applications must include a letter of intent, letter of reference and transcript of marks.

This year's recipient is Tracy Woodward, a teacher librarian from Delisle Composite School in the Prairie Spirit School Division. Tracy is currently taking classes in teacher-librarianship through the University of Alberta.

Art Forgay Award of Recognition of Administrators

This award is named for Art Forgay who contributed to Saskatchewan school libraries in a wide variety of ways during his career. Through this award the SSLA recognizes school based, system based, and provincial administrators who have demonstrated commitment and/or made valuable contributions toward establishing or developing effective school library programs. The SSLA recognizes the responsible and influential role that administrators perform in promoting effective school library programs. The SSLA honours those administrators who though their leadership has made an outstanding contribution to the concept of effective school library programs and to the role these programs play in the total learning environment of the school.

This year's recipient is the Saskatchewan School Boards Association. The SSBA has had representation on the Multitype Library Board, a Ministers' Advisory Board established by The Libraries Co-operation Act in 1996. The appointed SSBA representative to the Multitype Library Board has taken an active role in supporting libraries, especially school libraries. Former SSBA representation was instrumental in getting the SSBA to pass a motion directed to the U of R and the U of S to reinstate the school librarianship component of the education program.

The current SSBA representative on the Multitype Library Board, Bryan Wilson, was instrumental in bringing forth the idea of a research document that would frame the Ministry of Education policy and guidelines document on school libraries, *Connections*, from the point of view of a trustee. The research document, entitled *School Libraries in Saskatchewan:An Advisory for School Boards* is intended to raise awareness about the benefits of school libraries among school board trustees and outline a pathway with supports of determining resource allocation.

Connie Acton Award of Merit

The Connie Acton Award of Merit recognizes the contribution and effort of those individuals who have worked towards making the association an effective agency for the promotion of sound school library development and practice. The award is presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to school library programs to benefit students. This recipient has had an influential role in developing school and division libraries and has supported in the planning, implementation and maintenance of library services at all levels.

This year's recipient is Joan Miller, a teacher-librarian at Dr. Henry Braun School in the Regina Public School Division. Joan has been a committed teacher-librarian for almost thirty years. She was a member of a committee which created the provincial document *Where Did You Find That?: Resource-Based Learning.* Joan was also a member of the RPS School Library Review Committee, struck in 2005 to provide the Regina Public School Board with historical background and information about the state of the library program. She has also served many years as an executive member of the SSLA.

John G. Wright Distinguished Service Award

The John G. Wright Distinguished Service Award recognizes individuals who throughout their careers have made outstanding contributions to school library service in Saskatchewan. This award is presented to an individual who has provided leadership in formulating, instituting, and implementing school library policies and practices which have resulted in the improvement of teaching and learning. This individual also has effectively interpreted school library services to students, teacher and/or the community and has provided outstanding contributions to school library development at the provincial level.

This year's recipient is Florence Barton, a teacher-librarian at Greystone Heights Elementary School and Caroline Robins Elementary School in the Saskatoon Public School Division. Florence's many years of service and exemplary contributions were highlighted in her nomination. Some of Florence's many roles, past and present, include: President of the SYRCA Board of Directors, Teacher Librarian Council Executive, Co-writer of the school division manual, key organizer of the Literacy for Life Conference, and was instrumental in the early evolution of library automation. Florence is an asset to her school division and profession.

Congratulations once again to all of this year's recipients!

Please consider nominating worthy individuals for next year's award ceremony.